Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Good Night Day 11 Thursday, 1 Apr 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 10:49 pm

Woo-hoo! I am going home on SATURDAY NIGHT!!! Angie came today with the Geiger counter and checked my numbers.  My stuff was clean with almost everything not even registering any radiation at all.  My neck has dropped considerably on the amount that it is radiating (which of course we knew it would.)  Interestingly enough, my hands are the “hottest” (read “radioactive”) part of me.  Even so, the readings are well within what is generally considered safe.  Also, we have already taken extra precautions by even having me gone this long, as most people are outpatient or in the case of inpatient, go home after a few days.  Ember has been the main reason for the extra precaution.  Care of her requires so much hands on time, and much of the time that I am caring for her I am holding her close to my neck, which is where most of the radiation is.  The breast-feeding expert recommended I not hold Ember for at least 11 days.

By going home Saturday night I will not see the girls until Sunday morning.  By then it will be 6 hours shy of 13 full days.  Even so, I will still be cautious in my contact with the girls.  This just means that I can’t have them snuggled up to my neck for 4 hours straight (which I can’t imagine doing anyway.)

Sooooo… 2 more nights and then home to my hubby, my girls, my own bed… I have definitely gained a new love and appreciation for my family and my home.  I think I have also learned that there are a lot of things I don’t need and can do without.  As I said once before, I really do want to streamline, simplify, and de-clutter our lives.  I’m not going to move to the middle of nowhere, sell all our worldly possessions and live off the land (although there are parts of me that want to)… but I do want to re-prioritize and make more time for the things and the people we love.

I can’t believe that I only have 2 more days here and then I will be going home.  I started packing tonight and I don’t think I have ever been more excited to pack in my life!

2 more days of blogging from here, and then we will see what happens when I go home.  For starters I am going to take a computer break as soon as I get home.

Oh, I have a full-body scan tomorrow.  It takes a picture of all of my insides and shows anywhere that is radioactive.  This is important because it will show if there any areas where the iodine has been absorbed besides in my thryoid.  If it shows other areas, this means that these are cells that have metastasized (additional cancer cells) and are now being killed by the radiation.  If they show up they are already being treated by the radiation, but it gives them a baseline to go on when they scan me again in 6 months.  This helps with the early detection of any future cancer cells – which I am believing will never happen.  Also, they are going to check my hands again tomorrow.  For my peace of mind, I would love the number to be much less than the 2 or so it was today.  1 or less would be great, so please pray that somehow, miraculously, my level drops to 1 or less by tomorrow.

Good night day 11.  Thank you for the beauty and joy you brought me along my journey.  Lookout day 12, here I come!

 

Leave a Reply

