Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Day 10… Wednesday, 31 Mar 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 5:58 pm

has been good to me!

The fan didn’t block out the construction noise this morning and last night was a particularly rough one.  I went to bed early – lights out just before 10:15 but didn’t fall asleep until after 11pm.  I was very restless all night and woke up several times.  When I got up around 8:30am I saw that Josh had called me just after midnight.  Thinking there was a problem I called him right away and found out that Julia had been awake from 10:30pm-1:30pm and spent much of that time screaming and throwing a fit.  She even woke Ember up 3 times last night with all the noise. (For those of you who know her you probably are saying, “No! Not Julia!” Well if you are, then I will put your  name at the top of the list for Josh to call next time this happens (but hopefully it was a one time event!)  Needless to say he was very tired today and neither of us was very happy with Julia. So anyway, I didn’t get much sleep last night, but neither did the rest of my family.

Today was a beautiful day out!  The sky is blue, the sun is shining, and the weather is warm.  Weather like this does wonders for the spirit!  I made it over to the hospital cafeteria just in time to grab breakfast this morning.  For $3.11 I got a biscuit, gravy, sausage patty, cheesy eggs, and chocolate milk.  It was even pretty good.  Afterward I walked over to Panera and met my friends Kyle & Jen and their daughter, Lily.  Jen had just passed her 2nd (pregnancy) glucose test and was craving Panera 🙂  As I mentioned in a previous post, I was not going to pay $4 for a drink I may or may not be able to taste.  So I brought my own tea bag, got a free cup of hot water, and sat and had a nice chai tea with them while they ate lunch.  It made me feel almost normal.

Afterward I walked over to Walgreens and wandered around for a long time.  It’s amazing to spend as long as I want in a store.  You can do that when you have no where to go and no one to go home to. 😦 It was really quite enjoyable though.  I picked up a few little surprises for Julia’s easter basket too! (Don’t tell her!)

When I got back I had taco salad and a brownie waiting in my fridge for me (courtesy of the wonderful staff of the Fellowship house.)  After eating my lunch I gave myself a mini-pedicure in honor of the new temps outside!  It has been a thoroughly enjoyable day, except for the elephant in the room… the fact that all of this would be much more fun with my best friend, Josh, and my 2 little princesses by my side.

I told Josh today that I wish he and the girls could just move here with me. There is something nice about the simplicity of life here.  It’s simple because its not real life.  I have no responsibilities, no appointments, and I can really do whatever I want in my day (except for the fact that I have no car and what I really want is to go home.)  I love being able to get up and go for a walk, having a cheap cafeteria right around the corner and any other food I could ever want within walking distance.  I love having time to read, tons more time to talk to God, time to paint my nails and sit and talk with friends.  Now how do I get these simple enjoyments into the day-to-day life of running a house, taking care of 2 little girls, and assisting my husband with the business when he needs it? I don’t have the answer to that, but when I go home I really want to try to streamline our lives and schedules so that we are able to spend more time doing the things we really love and enjoy, including spending time together as a couple and as a family.

I am amazed that it is 6pm on day 10.  Tomorrow I will get the ghost buster treatment again as Angie comes over with a Geiger counter and checks how much radiation I and my stuff are emitting.  Hopefully, prayerfully, the readings will be low enough I can return home late Saturday night or early Sunday morning.  I am really looking forward to Easter at home with my family.

Oh, and Julia got her stitches out today and was a real trooper.  Afterward she had banana cream pudding, which she said made her head feel all better.  If you don’t know about her stitches, you will have to stay tuned until I get to that part of the “before treatment” story.  🙂

Thanks again for your continued prayers and support.  Together we have made it 2/3 of the way through this thing, and with your love, prayers, and encouragement I know I will be able to get through the last 4 days.

 

2 Responses to “Day 10…”

  1. I have been enjoying your thoughts. I am glad you are reading and getting to spend time with God. I agree with your resolutions for home. Amen to a simpler lifestyle and more togetherness time!!!
    Love you,
    Jen

  2. jenni perry Says:

    Dear Kaycie,

    praying for you and following your blog. We are in the Bahamas
    on the Ship with Stephanie. Quite amazing to see her and the rest of the crew at work. We are also enjoying the time away with no phones and no real responsibilities although Bill will teach a 3 hour seminar on Storytelling interactively on Friday night for some of the staff here. Praying for good results with the geiger counter and healing so you can be back with your family. Hugs to you. Love, Jenni


Leave a Reply

