Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Bland Saturday, 27 Mar 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 12:48 pm

Just discovered that I am experiencing a rather bothersome side effect that I thought I had avoided: loss of taste sensation. I didn’t realize it at first because I was eating hospital food and I felt so sick. I thought the food was just bland. I started to notice it yesterday when I made a pizza that tasted a little bland and then when I ate a whoppers robins egg candy and it tasted bland. It still didn’t click though until just a few minutes ago. I was making a grilled ham and cheese and tasted the ham, something I know what it is supposed to taste like. It had almost no flavor. Then I tried the grilled cheese and some tortilla chips. All bland… Josh read that it could last as long as 4 weeks. Praying it doesn’t. I guess I won’t have to worry about eating because I like the taste. I ate about 3/4 of the sandwich and threw the rest away. Food takes on a whole new meaning when you can’t taste it. It’s a lot easier to just eat until you are full. Could be good for losing the rest of the baby weight too.

 

2 Responses to “Bland”

  1. LeighAnn Says:

    Lord have mercy!!!! Well- they say that the sense of smell is the one most closely associated with memory, so just remember what everything tastes like and use your imagination..lol. it will be over before you know it. love you

    • its funny you say that because i ate hibachi tonight (a disappointing experience as you can imagine since i could barely taste it) and was doing exactly what you said – remember what it should taste like, haha!


Leave a Reply

