Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Good night Day 5 Friday, 26 Mar 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 10:35 pm

This afternoon turned out to be a pretty good one, besides the aching place in my heart that wants my family around me.  I got in about an hour nap, talked to Julia & Josh on the webcam, watched a couple episodes of Lost, colored a picture, and now I’m off to bed.  Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and in the mid 60’s and I get to have my first visitor!  I hope it will be a good day.

The sermon I watched earlier was talking about burdens.  Pastor Bob talked about the burdens we are given that are also blessings… like being a parent, our career, our area of ministry.  These are things that way heavy on us but are also a great blessing.  He talked about how we were never intended to carry our burdens alone.  Not only are we to give them to God and allow Him to shoulder our burdens, we are to allow others in our life to carry them with us.  When we try to do it all ourselves we often miss out on the blessing part because we are so focused on the burden.  We also keep others from experiencing the joy and blessing that comes in serving others and sharing their burdens with them.  It is so hard sometimes to share our burdens and to allow others to bear the burden with us.  When we do, our load is lightened, we are blessed, and others are blessed.  I am trying to learn to allow others to carry my burdens with me.  I am so grateful for those of you that are carrying the burden of being away from my family and providing for them while I am gone.  I am grateful for the prayers and the notes of encouragement that are lightening my load each day.  I know it is because of you and the way that God is using you that I have made it through 5 full days and can still smile and know that the next 10 days will pass quickly.

G’nite to all!  Sleep sweet 🙂

Proverbs 3:24 when you lie down, you will not be afraid;

when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.”

 

Leave a Reply

