Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Home away from home Wednesday, 24 Mar 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 5:17 pm

So here I am… sitting all alone in a small one bedroom apartment that will be my home away from home for the next 11 days or so.  It is a cute little apartment, very homey. (Pictures to follow soon.) I thought I would feel less isolated and alone being here, but so far it is worse.  It is SO quiet (other than the constructions sounds outside.)  At the hospital I knew that there were people on the other side of my door, and I was guaranteed at least a glimpse of one every few hours.  Now I don’t know how long it will be before I see another person.  At least tomorrow I would say.  I am trying to make the best of it.  When Josh and I came to drop off my stuff on Monday, he set a picture of my girls on top of the entertainment center.  It was the first thing I saw when I walked in.  Oh how I miss their smiling little faces and their wonderful little snuggles.  I also hate sleeping alone.  I miss just knowing that I can roll over and Josh is there to keep me company. What an amazing gift my family is!

I am still nauseous, but also hungry.  This now presents a slight problem because I am not getting food delivered to my room any minute and I can’t call and request something.  I have some food here, but in the state my stomach is in, very little sounds appetizing, and it seems like it would be a lot of work to make something anyway.  Hmm…. what to do…

 

Leave a Reply

