Radioactive Mama

My Cancer Journey

Good Morning Day 2 Tuesday, 23 Mar 10

Filed under: Uncategorized — radioactivemama @ 3:42 am

Good morning day 2.  I had hoped to not greet you so early.  It turns out that day 1 was quite attached to me and did not want me to go to sleep so early last night.  At 8pm I requested meds for my headache.  I waited to get in the shower until they came as I was told it wouldn’t be long several times.  10:30 my nurse brings me meds!  Woo-what a relief!  Then I get in the shower, and as promised, I didn’t think once about the ridiculously long time that I stood in there.  For some reason it was cathartic to stand there in the steaming water.  It may sound strange, but it sort of made me feel like I was washing the radiation away.  Its an odd feeling to almost be afraid of yourself.  After I touch things, my first instinct is to not want to touch them again, which is silly, since I swallowed the stuff.  It’s not like I can get away from it. 🙂  It’s just that all the precautions the hospital and staff are taking make me feel like I shouldn’t even touch anything, lol.  I don’t think I told you yet.  My room is covered in plastic wrap and what I call “peepee pads” (because I don’t know what they are really called!)  They are those blue and white pads they use in hospitals on the beds and also are sold at the store as puppy training pads.  Those are taped all over my floor, counters and chair (soft side up of course.)  It’s really kind of nice as it makes the floor slightly softer and considerably less cold to walk on.  It also makes me feel like it is cleaner in here.  Don’t know if that’s really true, but it makes me feel a little less icky about walking around in here. 🙂 Every surface that I would most likely touch is covered in handy wrap and/or masking tape.  This includes the phone, door knobs, light switches, faucets, toilet seat, table, remote, etc…  We also covered the keyboard of my laptop per Angie’s recommendation.  I wear gloves if I touch my cell phone.  The room phone is definitely easier. Also, no one can come in and once an item comes in (like a food tray) it cannot leave.  There is a table just inside the door that the staff leaves food and things on.  Thank goodness for my nurse who got me a second table as there was no way I could keep moving the table I am using over to the door every time they had to bring me something.

After my shower I talked to my hubby for a brief few minutes, and turned out the light around 11:30pm.  So much for an early  bedtime.  Again it strikes me as funny that I tried to have a plan.  You think I would have learned by now.  I know God is smiling and reminding me that my plans are laid waste in light of His perfect plan, and that I need to give up whatever sense of control I think I still have.  The last 4 months have been teaching me that… over and over and over and… apparently I am a slow learner in some regards, contrary to what I may have thought. 😉

The third time I woke up since going to bed I decided to check the time, hoping it was much closer to a reasonable hour than it felt like.  Nope.  Only 2:45.  Noticed a rather bright glow sneaking in through the blinds and opened them for a look.  I really thought it was the moon.  In fact, it is a gigantic crane all lit up!  It really looks kind of cool against the night sky.  Attempting to figure out how to get a pic on here.  Although my phone doesn’t really give a good picture.It's a crane! There – I added it! Haha!  Kind of proud of that.  It’s sad how technologically challenged I can be, especially since we run a computer repair business for a living.  Good thing I don’t actually do any of the repairing! :p

My stomach feels very ill.  I don’t even dare request anything for nausea at 3:30am.  I’ll be waiting for it until the shift change at 7am I am sure.  My wait last night was because the doc took forever to call back.  I am sure he would be in even less of a hurry to call back at this early hour.  It wasn’t my doc, who by the way is also amazing.  It was the on call doc.  He may be amazing too… but if he is, it is very slowly! Lol…

I hope that I can get in some sleep before the sun decides to join the rest of the world again.  In the morning (as in, daytime hours when most normal people are awake) I will tell you about my preparations for this treatment.  Low iodine diet… yum! (Not really.)

“Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.” -Psalm 46:10

“in the secret, in the quiet hour I wait,
only for you, cause I want to know you more” -MercyMe

 

One Response to “Good Morning Day 2”

  1. Amber Says:

    Good Morning my Friend! I see what time you have entered your Tuesday blog. Please don’t feel like the plague. I have a busy morning but, my afternoon is clearing up. I will check with Angie to see if I can poke my head in to see you. If not I will call your room. Please let me know if you need anything…..!

    Amber


Leave a Reply

